Brandenburg Concerto No. 3

Brandenburg Concerto No.3 was composed by Johann Sebastian Bach in 1721, when he was in service to the Court of Prince Leopold in Cothen. He was the courts Kapellmeister, which is a person in charge of music making. During this time he composed Brandenburg Concerto for the Duke of Brandenburg which became one of the most famous of his instrumental pieces. Brandenburg Concerto No.3 comes from a collection of six instrumental works and it is constructed for three violins, three violas, three cellos, and basso continuo. I personally enjoy this piece because you can hear each individual instrument but also can be heard as one. It is an up beat and always interesting piece of music.


~ by Rebekah Telfer on March 5, 2010.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: